In This Section

Bryan DUI/DWI Lawyer

Defending Drunk Driving Charges

Serving Clients in Bryan and College Station, Texas and Throughout the Brazos Valley

A Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charge is serious business in Texas. Just the arrest and what happens when you are arrested could affect the status of your driver's license and your ability to drive. A conviction could result in jail time, increased auto insurance premiums, civil surcharges, loss of job opportunities and more.

If you have already been convicted of DWI once before, a second charge can result in more serious fines and penalties. If you have been convicted of DWI twice or more before, any new DWI charge could be indicted as a felony, and you could be sent to prison for up to 10 years, if convicted.

The blood alcohol concentration (BAC) used to measure drunk driving in Texas is .08%. However, you can still be charged with DWI even if your BAC is below .08% if your driving is impaired due to the consumption of alcohol or drugs. Furthermore, if you are under the age of 21, you can be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) even if your BAC is below .08%.

Because the possible consequences of DWI, DUI and Underage Drinking are so serious, it is so important to consult a DWI attorney as soon as possible after you have been arrested or charged. The sooner you call Rick Davis, the sooner he can start building your defense.

Texas DWI Penalties

Here is an example of some of the possible serious consequences of Drunk Driving. If you are facing your first DWI charge, you could face the following consequences:

* 3 to 180 days in jail

* Up to $2,000 in fines

* 90 - 365 day license suspension

* Class B misdemeanor on your record

* Community service

* Probation

* Mandatory MADD Victim Impact Panel attendance

Drivers License Suspension

If you have been arrested for DWI, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will suspend your license automatically if you do not challenge your arrest. You can ask for an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing to make the DPS prove that your arrest was valid. You must request an ALR hearing within 15 days after you are arrested. If you have been arrested for DWI/DUI, call Rick Davis, and he will request a hearing for you, and will fight to keep your license.

If your license has already been suspended, Rick Davis can help you obtain an Occupational License so that you can still drive to and from work and make other essential trips in your car.

Drunk driving charges can have a lasting impact on your wallet, your driving privileges and even your liberty. Defending against DWI/DUI charges can be a challenging, complex task.

Formed in 1996, the law firm Richard W.B. "Rick" Davis, P.C., has provided efficient and effective representation for people facing DWI/DUI charges in Bryan and College Station, Texas and throughout the Brazos Valley. If you are charged with DWI or DUI, hire the lawyer who has not only tried cases like yours to juries, but who, as a former Judge, has actually presided over DWI and Intoxication Manslaughter jury trials.

To discuss your DWI/DUI charges and to learn how Rick Davis can help, contact the office online or call (979) 314-0592 and schedule your free consultation today.