Skip to Content

An Overview Of Drunk Driving Charges Rick Davis Associates

Blogs from April, 2017


dont drink and drive sign


April 21, 2017

In Texas, a charge for driving while intoxicated can carry serious consequences and potentially harsh penalties. Simply being arrested for a drunk driving charge in Texas can impact the accused individual’s ability to drive and the status of their driver’s license. A conviction for a drunk driving charge can lead to jail time, an increase in auto insurance costs, civil surcharges and additional challenges related to employment opportunities.

The legal limit for when a driver is considered impaired in Texas is .08 percent blood alcohol content level; however, charges may apply in additional situations if the driver has a mixture of alcohol and drugs in their system or the driver is underage. Prior drunk driving charges can result in more significant penalties and fines associated with any future charges. A third drunk driving charge, following 2 prior convictions for drunk driving, can result in a felony drunk driving charge. A felony drunk driving charge can potentially be punished by 10 years in prison.

For a driver’s first drunk driving charge they may face between 3 and 180 days in jail, fines up to $2,000, license suspension for between 90 and 365 days, a criminal record, community service requirements, probation and mandatory attendance at a Mothers Against Drunk Driving impact panel. Individuals accused of drunk driving face potential criminal and administrative penalties. Following a drunk driving charge and the suspension of the driver’s license, they may be able to challenge the arrest and suspension through an administrative hearing, but they have a limited time line to do so. Additional options may also be available once the license is suspended.

A DWI charge can have a significant impact on the personal, financial and professional lives of individuals facing the charge. As a result, it is important that they understand the criminal justice process related to drunk driving charges and the resources available to help them mitigate the impact of drunk driving charges and accusations.

Related Posts: I was charged with a DWI, how long will I lose my license for?, We’ll help you challenge field sobriety test results, Must one take a field sobriety test if they are pulled over?, College student in hot water after running over officer’s leg

Share To: